Draft Video

The idea for my project came from watching video montages of professional skaters as research, and throughout my own life skating. The influence mainly came from skaters recognition films. Instead of focusing on tricks and getting promotions, I wanted to focus on the true passion   and love for the sport rather than the promotions and business aspects. I wanted to show that skating isn’t all about the tricks and style, its about the freedom and joy you receive from it that makes skating so amazing. It is away to escape, forget about life, and enjoy your own world, at least the way I think about it. Each clip I individually edited and cut.  All the filming was taken place outside of Stephenson and I filmed it using a camera from Media center. The main tools I used were the Trim tools and effects. I added effects to almost every clip. I also used effects for the clip transitions and audio transitions. For both audio and video, I added a fade away and dip to black trying to show the start and end of the video. The hardest part of this assignment was trying to free hand record and stabilize the camera as best as possible without a tripod or stabilizer. The hardest part of the video editing was editing each individual clip and aligning them to flow with the music and each other. I found that editing them separately in by double-clicking the clip and then adding them is a lot easier and precise. The music to the song was found on Soundcloud and is a commercially modifiable source. I used the song because I think it is a perfect fit with the beat and tempo to the video and accompanies the sport itself. I wanted music that was not to slow, which would bore the viewer and not fit the vibe of the video, but this tempo seemed perfectly upbeat for this type of sequence.

 

Music: Soundcloud Creative Commons Commercial use and Modification

Come Take Me Over – Sokar Beats

 

Author: gonzog97

DTC Major w/ Minor Business

Leave a comment